Fallen Peace Officers Memorial



Fallen Peace Officers Memorial

In keeping with National Peace Officers Memorial Day (info from the Dona Ana County Sheriff’s Office) the Las Cruces Police Department, Doña Ana County Sheriff’s Office, New Mexico State Police and several other local law-enforcement agencies will gather to honor those who have been lost in the line of duty.

The Southern New Mexico Fallen Peace Officers Memorial will begin with a candlelight vigil Monday, May 11, at 8 p.m. on the front lawn of the Doña Ana County Sheriff’s Department located at 845 N. Motel Blvd.

Tomorrow morning at 9am (May 12th) a memorial procession will take place from the parking lot of the former K-mart location on El Paseo Road to the Las Cruces Convention Center, where a memorial service will begin at 10 a.m. The public is invited to attend all events.

Nearly 40 officers from southern New Mexico and El Paso County will be honored, including those killed in the line of duty and those who died of natural causes during the past year, including Officer Adrian Arellano of the El Paso Police Department, William “Bill” Crawford with the Doña Ana County Sheriff’s Department Mounted Patrol, Art Leyva of the Southern New Mexico Correctional Facility, Javier Ochoa with the Doña Ana County Detention Center, Reynaldo Robles who served with both the Doña Ana County Sheriff’s Department and New Mexico State University Police, and Arturo Telles who served with DASO and the Las Cruces Police Department.

Similar events are held simultaneously at the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial in Washington, D.C.